Sturgill Simpson (Photo Reto Sterchi)

Sturgill Simpson blends classic country, psychedelia on ‘Metamodern Sounds in Country Music’

a2550786045_2Sturgill Simpson is going to be a name to remember this year. While his name was prominent in a few circles over the past couple of years, his latest effort Metamodern Sounds in Country Music is going to boost him to the top of many “best of” lists and the year isn’t even to the midpoint yet.

It’s kind of reminiscent of Jason Isbell’s Southeastern last year – once you hear it, it’s almost impossible to put away for any time at all.

Given the title is similar in fashion to one of the all-time great albums by Ray Charles, Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, this work is transcendental as it is more like Waylon Jennings meets Sgt. Pepper.

A son of the South, Simpson’s Kentucky ties shine through in his writing and his delivery is on par with country greats, but at times Simpson does steer in a different direction with lines of drug reference and varied mindsets in “Turtles All the Way Down.”

Tracks like “Life of Sin” and “Living the Dream” are classic country while “It Ain’t Flowers” clocks in at nearly seven minutes and has a feel to it like no other track on the album as it ends with a looping sequence of spatial sounds to close it out.

Track List

  1. Turtles All the Way Down
  2. Life of Sin
  3. Living the Dream
  4. Voices
  5. Long White Line
  6. The Promise
  7. A Little Light Within
  8. Just Let Go
  9. It Ain’t Flowers


No Comments

Post A Comment